When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Halal butcher shop in Shanghai, China. In Islamic law, dhabīḥah (Arabic: ذَبِيحَة) is the prescribed method of slaughter for halal animals. It consists of a swift, deep incision to the throat with a very sharp knife, cutting the wind pipe, jugular veins and carotid arteries on both sides but leaving the spinal cord intact.

  3. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    Gelatin, according to one of the two Islamic viewpoints, it is only permissible if it comes from a permissible animal, but according to another Islamic viewpoint, gelatin is halal, whatever its source, due to a chemical transformation, [7] [8] as for Judaism usually kosher gelatin comes from the bones of kosher fish, [citation needed] or is a ...

  4. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. In some religions , an unclean animal is an animal whose consumption or handling is taboo . According to these religions, persons who handle such animals may need to ritually purify themselves to get rid of their uncleanliness.

  5. Talk:Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:Haram

    Is gelatine considered haraam by all Muslim scholars? I have read of a contradictory opinion... See: Salafitalk- Ruling on Gelatin--Nabilqureshi 05:31, 14 May 2005 (UTC) Gelatin / Gelatine - haram if obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources - the source is sometimes mentioned on the ingredients list. A vegetarian alternative is available.

  6. Gelatin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin

    Gelatin is used as a binder in match heads [39] and sandpaper. [40] Cosmetics may contain a non-gelling variant of gelatin under the name hydrolyzed collagen (hydrolysate). Gelatin was first used as an external surface sizing for paper in 1337 and continued as a dominant sizing agent of all European papers through the mid-nineteenth century. [41]

  7. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    While pork alternatives (for example, by Impossible Foods) do not contain actual pork meat, some conservative religious groups, such as in Islam or Judaism regard it as forbidden, similar to its meat-based counterpart as it is the said haram or non-kosher product the pork alternative is trying to mimic and present. In addition, stricter rabbi ...

  8. Halal certification in Australia - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal_certification_in...

    According to the Australian Food and Grocery Council, halal foods must be "free from any substance taken or extracted from a haram animal or ingredient (e.g. pigs, dogs, carnivorous animals, animals not slaughtered in compliance with Islamic rites); [be] made, processed, manufactured and/or stored by using utensils, equipment and/or machinery ...

  9. Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haram

    Haram (/ h ə ˈ r ɑː m, h æ ˈ-, h ɑː ˈ-,-ˈ r æ m /; [1] [2] Arabic: حَرَام ḥarām [ħɑˈrɑːm]) is an Arabic term meaning 'forbidden'. [3]: 471 This may refer to either something sacred to which access is not allowed to the people who are not in a state of purity or who are not initiated into the sacred knowledge; or, in direct contrast, to an evil and thus "sinful action ...