When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Christian dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_dietary_laws

    They only eat meat of a herbivore with split hooves and birds without a crop and without webbed feet; they also do not eat shellfish of any kind, and they only eat fish with scales. Any other animal is considered unclean and not suitable for eating. All vegetables, fruits and nuts are allowed. [23]

  3. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. In some religions , an unclean animal is an animal whose consumption or handling is taboo . According to these religions, persons who handle such animals may need to ritually purify themselves to get rid of their uncleanliness.

  4. Fasting and abstinence in the Catholic Church - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fasting_and_abstinence_in...

    Fish and other designated seafood are traditionally eaten by Catholics on Fridays due to the prohibition on eating meat on that day. Contemporary practice varies by country and area. The Catholic Church historically observes the disciplines of fasting and abstinence (from meat) at various times each year. For Catholics, fasting is the reduction ...

  5. Lab-grown meat doesn’t involve slaughter. Does that mean it’s ...

    www.aol.com/finance/lab-grown-meat-kosher-halal...

    In Jewish law, pareve foods, such as fish, fruit and vegetables, are not considered meat or milk, and so can be consumed with either meat or dairy. Israel’s chief Ashkenazi Rabbi David Lau seems ...

  6. Christian vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_vegetarianism

    The Christian Vegetarian Association of the UK claims that the word "meat" is not used in any one instance in the authorized version of either the Old or New Testament as relating only to animal food (e.g. "flesh"). The CVA states that when the first English translations of the Bible were created, the word for "meat" meant food in general.

  7. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    According to the ancient Hindu scriptures (cf. Manusmṛti and medicinal texts like Sushruta Samhita), dog's meat was regarded as the most unclean (and rather poisonous) food possible. Dog's meat is also regarded as unclean under Jewish and Islamic dietary laws; [36] therefore, consumption of dog meat is forbidden by both of those religious ...

  8. Christianity and animal rights - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christianity_and_animal_rights

    Looking at the canonical gospels, Jesus ate the Passover meal which included meat (e.g. Matthew 26:17-20). He did not identify being a vegetarian and did not act like one. [2] Biblical passages associate Jesus and his followers with fishing, which could be an implied support for meat-eating (at least of that type) specifically. [1]

  9. AOL Mail

    mail.aol.com

    Get AOL Mail for FREE! Manage your email like never before with travel, photo & document views. Personalize your inbox with themes & tabs. You've Got Mail!