When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Christian dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_dietary_laws

    The general dietary restrictions specified for Christians in the New Testament are to "abstain from food sacrificed to idols, from blood, from meat of strangled animals". [ 1 ] [ 2 ] Some Christian denominations forbid certain foods during periods of fasting , which in some cases may cover half the year and may exclude meat, fish, dairy ...

  3. Fasting and abstinence in the Catholic Church - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fasting_and_abstinence_in...

    Eastern Christians view fasting as one part of repentance and supporting a spiritual change of heart. Eastern Christians observe two major times of fasting, the "Great Fast" before Easter, and "Phillip's Fast" before the Nativity. The fast period before Christmas is called Philip's Fast because it begins after the feast day of St. Philip.

  4. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    For instance, in early medieval Christianity, certain uncooked foods were of dubious status: a penitential ascribed to Bede outlined a (mild) penance for those who ate uncooked foods, and Saint Boniface wrote to Pope Zachary (in a letter preserved in the Boniface correspondence, no. 87) asking him how long bacon would have to be cured to be ...

  5. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. Pork is a food taboo among several religions, including Jews, Muslims, and some Christian denominations. Swine were prohibited in ancient Syria [1] and Phoenicia, [2] and the pig and its flesh represented a taboo observed, Strabo noted, at Comana in ...

  6. Friday fast - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Friday_fast

    The Friday fast is a Christian practice of variously (depending on the denomination) abstaining from meat, dairy products and alcohol, on Fridays, or holding a fast on Fridays, [1] [2] that is found most frequently in the Eastern Orthodox, Oriental Orthodox, Catholic, Lutheran, Anglican and Methodist traditions.

  7. Daniel Fast - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Fast

    The Daniel Fast, in Christianity, is a partial fast, in which meat, dairy, alcohol, and other rich foods are avoided in favor of vegetables and water in order to be more sensitive to God. [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] The fast is based on the lifelong kosher diet of the Jewish prophet Daniel in the biblical Book of Daniel and the three-week mourning fast ...

  8. AOL Mail

    mail.aol.com/d?reason=invalid_cred

    Get AOL Mail for FREE! Manage your email like never before with travel, photo & document views. Personalize your inbox with themes & tabs. You've Got Mail!

  9. Fasting and abstinence of the Coptic Orthodox Church

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fasting_and_abstinence_of...

    All Coptic Christians are expected to fast following a prescribed set of guidelines. In Coptic Christianity, the Black Fast of the early Church is the normative way of fasting, meaning that the believer goes without water and food from midnight to sunset; after that time, the consumption of water and one vegetarian meal is permitted. [4]