Search results
Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
A Hindu, lacto-vegetarian meal served on a banana leaf. Vegetarianism is a dietary ideal among many Hindus, based on the concept of ahimsa—non-violence and compassion towards all beings. [1] It is also considered sattvic, associated with qualities such as goodness, balance, and serenity that are conducive to spiritual progress. [32] [33]
Vegetarianism in Jainism is based on the principle of nonviolence (ahimsa, literally "non-injuring"). Vegetarianism is considered mandatory for everyone. Jains are either lacto-vegetarians or vegans. [10] No use or consumption of products obtained from dead animals is allowed.
India has the world's largest number of vegetarians. [1] [2] Vegetarianism has been present in India since antiquity [3] although a non-vegetarian diet may be present even on the highest priest caste. [4] Many Indians who do not regularly follow a vegetarian diet may adopt one during religious festivals. [citation needed]
Vegetarian diets are categorized as lacto vegetarianism, ovo-lacto vegetarianism, and veganism in general. The reasons for being vegetarian include influence from friends and family members, concern about global warming, health issues and weight management, religion and mercy for animals, in descending order of significance. [111]
What links here; Related changes; Upload file; Special pages; Permanent link; Page information; Cite this page; Get shortened URL; Download QR code
Many vegetarian restaurants and Mishtanna sweet-shops – for example, the Ghantewala sweets of Delhi [48] and Jamna Mithya in Sagar – are run by Jains. Some restaurants in India serve Jain versions of vegetarian dishes that leave out carrots, potatoes, onions and garlic. A few airlines serve Jain vegetarian dishes [49] [50] upon prior request.
Get AOL Mail for FREE! Manage your email like never before with travel, photo & document views. Personalize your inbox with themes & tabs. You've Got Mail!
Vegetarianism is the practice of abstaining from the consumption of meat (red meat, poultry, seafood, insects, and the flesh of any other animal). It may also include abstaining from eating all by-products of animal slaughter. [1] [2] A person who practices vegetarianism is known as a vegetarian. Vegetarianism may be adopted for various reasons.