When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. High-maltose corn syrup - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-maltose_corn_syrup

    High-maltose syrups produced from corn are gluten-free, but certain syrups produced from wheat or barley may contain small amounts of gluten. [9] [10] It is unclear whether gluten occurring in a wheat- or barley-based syrup can have significant effects in celiac disease. [citation needed]

  3. Corn syrup - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corn_syrup

    Corn syrup is a food syrup which is made from the starch of corn/maize and contains varying amounts of sugars: glucose, maltose and higher oligosaccharides, depending on the grade. Corn syrup is used in foods to soften texture , add volume, prevent crystallization of sugar, and enhance flavor.

  4. Glucose syrup - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glucose_syrup

    Glucose syrup on a black surface. Glucose syrup, also known as confectioner's glucose, is a syrup made from the hydrolysis of starch. Glucose is a sugar. Maize (corn) is commonly used as the source of the starch in the US, in which case the syrup is called "corn syrup", but glucose syrup is also made from potatoes and wheat, and less often from barley, rice and cassava.

  5. What Is Corn Syrup? Here’s Why You Should Always Have This ...

    www.aol.com/corn-syrup-why-always-staple...

    Corn syrup is a sweet, viscous syrup made from refined cornstarch and used as a liquid sweetener or thickener in candy, pies, jams and jellies, and even beer. At the grocery store, you’ll find ...

  6. What is corn syrup? When should you use it and why does it ...

    www.aol.com/news/corn-syrup-why-does-bad...

    Corn syrup is acidic, McGee explains, so when it reacts with baking soda, the resulting carbon dioxide can contribute to the rise of baked goods when it inflates the air pockets already in a dough ...

  7. 10 everyday items you would never guess contain gluten - AOL

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/2015-11-24-10-everyday...

    Gluten may occasionally appear in vitamin supplements purely as a binding agent. 2. Pickles. Some pickling processes include malt vinegar (a beer-like liquid), which may contain gluten. 3 ...

  8. Corn wet-milling - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corn_wet-milling

    The wet-milling process will have five major products: steep water solids, germ, fiber, starch, and gluten. However, the co-product from this process will produce corn oil, corn gluten meal, corn germ meal, corn gluten and feed steep water. The average of one bushel of corn generally will have about 32 lb of starch or 33 lb sweeteners or 2.5 ...

  9. Fructose malabsorption - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fructose_malabsorption

    Foods (such as bread) marked "gluten-free" are usually suitable for fructose malabsorbers, though they need to be careful of gluten-free foods that contain dried fruit or high fructose corn syrup or fructose itself in sugar form. However, fructose malabsorbers do not need to avoid gluten, as those with celiac disease must. [citation needed]