When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Christian dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_dietary_laws

    The Seventh-day Adventist Church follows the Old Testament's Mosaic Law on dietary restrictions, which is also the basis for the Jewish dietary laws. They only eat meat of a herbivore with split hooves and birds without a crop and without webbed feet; they also do not eat shellfish of any kind, and they only eat fish with scales.

  3. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. Pork is a food taboo among several religions, including Jews, Muslims, and some Christian denominations. Swine were prohibited in ancient Syria [1] and Phoenicia, [2] and the pig and its flesh represented a taboo observed, Strabo noted, at Comana in ...

  4. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Consumption of pigs is forbidden by Islam, Judaism and certain Christian denominations, such as Seventh-day Adventists. This prohibition is set out in the holy texts of the religions concerned, e.g. Qur'an 2:173, 5:3, 6:145 and 16:115, [ 111 ] Leviticus 11:7-8 [ 112 ] and Deuteronomy 14:8. [ 113 ]

  5. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    One modern example of a Torah-submissive group is the Seventh-day Adventist Church, whose co-founder Ellen G. White was a proponent of vegetarianism. Many Seventh-day Adventists avoid meat for health reasons, although vegetarianism is not a requirement.

  6. List of diets - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_diets

    Some foods and food combinations are non-kosher, and failure to prepare food in accordance with kashrut can make otherwise permissible foods non-Kosher. [9] Seventh-day Adventist diet: Combines the kosher food rules of Judaism with prohibitions against alcoholic beverages and (sometimes) caffeinated beverages. There is emphasis on consuming ...

  7. Seventh-day Adventist Church - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seventh-day_Adventist_Church

    The Seventh-day Adventist Church is the largest of several Adventist groups which arose from the Millerite movement of the 1840s in upstate New York, [17] a phase of the Second Great Awakening. [18] William Miller predicted on the basis of Daniel 8:14–16 [ 19 ] and the " day-year principle " that Jesus Christ would return to Earth between the ...

  8. Lacto-ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lacto-ovo_vegetarianism

    The Bible Christian Church promoted the use of eggs, dairy and honey as God's given food per "the promised land flowing with milk and honey" (Exodus 3:8). [13] Many Seventh-day Adventist followers are ovo-lacto vegetarians and have recommended a vegetarian diet, which may include milk products and eggs, since late 19th century. [14]

  9. Category : Seventh-day Adventist food and drink companies

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Seventh-day...

    Pages in category "Seventh-day Adventist food and drink companies" The following 5 pages are in this category, out of 5 total. This list may not reflect recent changes .