When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Milk and meat in Jewish law - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milk_and_meat_in_Jewish_law

    The mixture of meat and dairy (Hebrew: בשר בחלב, romanized: basar bechalav, lit. 'meat in milk') is forbidden according to Jewish law.This dietary law, basic to kashrut, is based on two verses in the Book of Exodus, which forbid "boiling a (goat) kid in its mother's milk" [1] and a third repetition of this prohibition in Deuteronomy.

  3. Jewish dairy restaurant - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jewish_dairy_restaurant

    B&H Dairy Sign (top center) for Ratner's, Lower East Side, Manhattan (c. 1928. A Jewish dairy restaurant, Kosher dairy restaurant, [1] [2] dairy lunchroom, dairy deli, milkhik or milchig restaurant is a type of generally lacto-ovo vegetarian/pescatarian kosher restaurant, luncheonette or eat-in diner in Ashkenazi Jewish cuisine, particularly American Jewish cuisine and the cuisine of New York ...

  4. Kosher foods - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_foods

    Kosher foods are foods that conform to the Jewish dietary regulations of kashrut (dietary law).The laws of kashrut apply to food derived from living creatures and kosher foods are restricted to certain types of mammals, birds and fish meeting specific criteria; the flesh of any animals that do not meet these criteria is forbidden by the dietary laws.

  5. Kosher restaurant - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_restaurant

    Due to rules about milk and meat in Jewish law, kosher dairy restaurants do not serve meat. Their offerings may include dairy products, such as cheese and milk. Milchig restaurants may, and often do, serve fish, eggs, vegetarian and vegan dishes, and other foods classified as "pareve" under kosher rules. In the U.S., there have been many kosher ...

  6. American Jewish cuisine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Jewish_cuisine

    Kosher food is food that conforms to kashrut, i.e. Jewish dietary laws. Under these rules, some foods – for example, pork and shellfish – are forbidden. Any meat must come from an animal that was slaughtered using a process known as shechita. Jewish dietary law also prohibits the eating of meat and milk at the same meal. For this purpose ...

  7. Ashkenazi Jewish cuisine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ashkenazi_Jewish_cuisine

    With kosher meat not always available, fish became an important staple of the Jewish diet. In Eastern Europe it was sometimes especially reserved for Shabbat. As fish is not considered meat in the same way that beef or poultry are, it can also be eaten with dairy products (although some Sephardim do not mix fish and dairy).

  8. Made in the USA? Proposed rule clarifies grocery meat labels

    www.aol.com/finance/made-usa-proposed-rule...

    FILE - In this photo made on June 16, 2022, rows of fresh cut beef is in the coolers of the retail section at the Wight's Meat Packing facility in Fombell, Pa. Federal agriculture officials on ...

  9. Kosher style - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_style

    Historically speaking, kosher style referred to foods that would normally be kosher, such as chicken noodle soup or pareve meals (neither meat nor dairy, the mixing of which is forbidden according to traditional halakhic [Jewish law] standards of kashrut [4]), except that these foods do not currently meet proper halakhic standards.