When.com Web Search

  1. Ads

    related to: cheese that contains rennet proteins and amino acids

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Whey - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whey

    To produce cheese, rennet or an edible acid is added to heated milk. This makes the milk coagulate or curdle, separating the milk solids (curds) from the liquid whey. [4] Sweet whey is the byproduct of rennet-coagulated cheese, and acid whey (also called sour whey) is the byproduct of acid-coagulated cheese. [5]

  3. Rennet - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rennet

    Animal rennet to be used in the manufacture of cheddar cheese. Rennet (/ ˈ r ɛ n ɪ t /) is a complex set of enzymes produced in the stomachs of ruminant mammals. Chymosin, its key component, is a protease enzyme that curdles the casein in milk. In addition to chymosin, rennet contains other enzymes, such as pepsin and a lipase.

  4. Whey protein - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whey_protein

    Whey is left over when milk is coagulated during the process of cheese production. Coagulation can happen by adding acid or rennet. It is a 5% solution of lactose in water and contains the water-soluble proteins of milk as well as some lipid content. [3]

  5. Chymosin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chymosin

    Chymosin / ˈ k aɪ m ə s ɪ n / or rennin / ˈ r ɛ n ɪ n / is a protease found in rennet.It is an aspartic endopeptidase belonging to MEROPS A1 family. It is produced by newborn ruminant animals in the lining of the abomasum to curdle the milk they ingest, allowing a longer residence in the bowels and better absorption.

  6. Glycomacropeptide - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glycomacropeptide

    The glycans make GMP the only portion of the casein micelle that is water soluble after curdling has occurred, and thus, the only fraction of casein protein to dissolve into the whey. Additionally, GMP is the only easily attainable source of dietary peptides that does not contain any aromatic amino acids.

  7. Grana Padano - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grana_Padano

    It is produced year-round, and varies seasonally as well as by year. Although similar to Parmesan cheese, the younger Grana Padano cheeses are less crumbly, milder, and less complex in flavor than the better-known, longer-aged Parmesan. [1] It is produced via lactic acid fermentation and a long, slow ripening process [6]: 103 lasting 14-16 months.

  8. Manufacture of cheddar cheese - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manufacture_of_cheddar_cheese

    This enzyme is responsible for the coagulation of the milk proteins to produce curds. Cheese produced this way is neither vegetarian nor kosher. Coagulation can also be achieved using acids, but this method yields lower-quality cheddar. The two key components of natural rennet are chymosin and bovine pepsin. Extracts from plants such as nettles ...

  9. Cheese - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheese

    The nutritional value of cheese varies widely. Cottage cheese may consist of 4% fat and 11% protein while some whey cheeses are 15% fat and 11% protein, and triple cream cheeses can contain 36% fat and 7% protein. [52] In general, cheese is a rich source (20% or more of the Daily Value, DV) of calcium, protein, phosphorus, sodium and saturated ...