When.com Web Search

  1. Ad

    related to: kosher restrictions list

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Kosher foods - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_foods

    Kosher foods are foods that conform to the Jewish dietary regulations of kashrut (dietary law).The laws of kashrut apply to food derived from living creatures and kosher foods are restricted to certain types of mammals, birds and fish meeting specific criteria; the flesh of any animals that do not meet these criteria is forbidden by the dietary laws.

  3. Kosher animals - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_animals

    Kosher animals are animals that comply with the regulations of kashrut and are considered kosher foods. These dietary laws ultimately derive from various passages in the Torah with various modifications, additions and clarifications added to these rules by halakha. Various other animal-related rules are contained in the 613 commandments.

  4. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  5. List of halal and kosher fish - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_halal_and_kosher_fish

    According to the chok or divine decrees of the Torah and the Talmud, for a fish to be declared kosher, it must have scales and fins. [ 8 ] The definition of "scale" differs from the definitions presented in biology, in that the scales of a kosher fish must be visible to the eye, present in the adult form, and can be easily removed from the skin ...

  6. Kashrut - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kashrut

    The Jewish Dietary Laws: Dietary laws regarding plants and vegetables, with particular reference to the produce of the Holy Land. Soncino Press. ISBN 978-0-900689-22-2. Isaac Klein, A Guide to Jewish Religious Practice, JTSA, 1992, pp. 302–378 (for laws of kashrut in general) & 110–117 (for Passover)

  7. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    However, the precise identity of the unclean birds is a matter of contention in traditional Jewish texts. It is therefore common to eat only birds with a clear masorah (tradition) of being kosher in at least one Jewish community, such as domestic fowl. Leviticus 11 lists the non-kosher flying creatures. [14]

  8. Category:Kosher food - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Kosher_food

    This category is for articles dealing with the laws of kosher food (kosher = kashrut). Subcategories This category has the following 11 subcategories, out of 11 total.

  9. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    Elephant meat is also not considered kosher by Jewish dietary laws because elephants do not have cloven hooves and are not ruminants. Some scholars of Islamic dietary laws have ruled that it is forbidden for Muslims to eat elephant because elephants fall under the prohibited category of fanged or predatory animals. [46] [47]