Search results
Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
Some Christian monks, such as the Trappists, have adopted a vegetarian policy of abstinence from eating meat. [35] A vegan Ethiopian Yetsom beyaynetu, compatible with fasting rules. During Lent some Christian communities, such as Orthodox Christians in the Middle East, undertake partial fasting eating only one light meal per day. [36]
The eating of camels is strictly prohibited by the Torah in Deuteronomy 14:7 and Leviticus 11:4. The Torah considers the camel unclean, even though it chews the cud, or regurgitates, the way bovines, sheep, goats, deer, antelope, and giraffes (all of which are kosher) do, because it does not meet the cloven hoof criterion.
Rashi (the primary Jewish commentator on the Bible and Talmud) lists the prohibition of pig as a law whose reason is not known, and may therefore be derided by others as making no sense. [25] The Sefer HaChinuch [26] (an early work of Halachah) gives a general overview of the Jewish dietary laws. He writes "And if there are any reasons for the ...
However, the precise identity of the unclean birds is a matter of contention in traditional Jewish texts. It is therefore common to eat only birds with a clear masorah (tradition) of being kosher in at least one Jewish community, such as domestic fowl. Leviticus 11 lists the non-kosher flying creatures. [14]
Peter's vision of a sheet with animals, the vision painted by Domenico Fetti (1619) Illustration from Treasures of the Bible by Henry Davenport Northrop, 1894. According to the Acts of the Apostles, chapter 10, Saint Peter had a vision of a vessel (Greek: σκεῦος, skeuos; "a certain vessel descending upon him, as it had been a great sheet knit at the four corners") full of animals being ...
The early Christian form is known as the Black Fast: "eating only once a day, toward evening; nothing else except a little water was taken all day". [15] This was the normative way of Christian fasting prior to the 8th century A.D. and is still kept by some of the faithful to this day, especially during Lent.
If a bird kills other animals to get its food, eats meat, or is a dangerous bird, then is not kosher, a predatory bird is unfit to eat, raptors like the eagles, hawks, owls and other hunting birds are not kosher, vultures and other carrion-eating birds are not kosher either.
The first apostolic council told Christians to refrain from eating meat that had been strangled, but did not hinder the eating of other meat (Acts 15:29). Paul wrote to the Romans, in the context of freedom to make choices, "Whoever eats meat does so to the Lord, for they give thanks to God" (Romans 14:6), with no condemnation of this activity.