When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Milk and meat in Jewish law - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milk_and_meat_in_Jewish_law

    The mixture of meat and dairy (Hebrew: בשר בחלב, romanized: basar bechalav, lit. 'meat in milk') is forbidden according to Jewish law.This dietary law, basic to kashrut, is based on two verses in the Book of Exodus, which forbid "boiling a (goat) kid in its mother's milk" [1] and a third repetition of this prohibition in Deuteronomy.

  3. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    According to Jewish dietary laws, cooking equipment cannot come into contact with both meat and dairy. Both the kitchen utensils and eating utensils used must be designated to either one or the other. [15] Wine was very important in early Judaism. The Jewish Talmud stated that wine is an alternative to other medicines. Wine is permitted by all ...

  4. Kosher restaurant - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_restaurant

    Descended from the milchhallen or "milk pavilions" of Europe, they popped up in the Jewish immigrant community of the Lower East Side in the late 19th, where there were at once hundreds of dairy restaurants. [1] [2] [3] Due to rules about milk and meat in Jewish law, kosher dairy restaurants do not serve meat. Their offerings may include dairy ...

  5. Jewish dairy restaurant - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jewish_dairy_restaurant

    B&H Dairy Sign (top center) for Ratner's, Lower East Side, Manhattan (c. 1928. A Jewish dairy restaurant, Kosher dairy restaurant, [1] [2] dairy lunchroom, dairy deli, milkhik or milchig restaurant is a type of generally lacto-ovo vegetarian/pescatarian kosher restaurant, luncheonette or eat-in diner in Ashkenazi Jewish cuisine, particularly American Jewish cuisine and the cuisine of New York ...

  6. Why do Jews eat Chinese food on Christmas? How the ... - AOL

    www.aol.com/why-jews-eat-chinese-food-004800991.html

    If you didn't know any better, you'd think it was the Lunar New Year or another special day for Chinese people. Why do Jews eat Chinese food on Christmas? How the tradition has evolved over 100 years.

  7. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    The consumption of dairy products together with meat is also prohibited as non-kosher in Rabbinic Judaism, based on Deuteronomy 14:21: "You shall not boil a young goat in its mother's milk." Karaite Jews, however, interpret this commandment more literally to mean that meat cannot be cooked in milk; but dairy products can be served with them.

  8. The Best Traditional Hanukkah Foods, From Latkes to Donuts - AOL

    www.aol.com/best-traditional-hanukkah-foods...

    What Do You Serve at A Hanukkah Party? The two most popular Hanukkah foods are latkes and jelly donuts, both symbolic of the oil that kept the lamp burning. Gelt, little foil-wrapped chocolate ...

  9. Are eggs dairy? The answer isn’t totally clear to everyone

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/eggs-dairy-answer-isn-t...

    Why do some people think eggs are dairy? ... However, someone can be dairy-free and still eat eggs, like someone who is lactose intolerant. So, the short version of this debate: Dairy is milk ...