When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    Gelatin, according to one of the two Islamic viewpoints, it is only permissible if it comes from a permissible animal, but according to another Islamic viewpoint, gelatin is halal, whatever its source, due to a chemical transformation, [7] [8] as for Judaism usually kosher gelatin comes from the bones of kosher fish, [citation needed] or is a ...

  3. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    Another school of thought, such as the Hanafi Madhhab, requires that the meat be certified as Halal only by ensuring Islamic slaughtering of the animals. [18] Most South Asian Muslims follow that. [citation needed] According to Sozomen, some Arabs in pre-Islamic Arabia who traced their ancestry to Ishmael abstained from the consumption of pork ...

  4. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    Any product of an impure or improperly slaughtered animal is also non-kosher. Animal gelatin, for example, has been avoided, although recently kosher gelatin (from cows or from fish prepared according to kosher regulations) has become available.; [7] the status of shellac is controversial.

  5. The Meaning of Passover—and What to Expect if You're ... - AOL

    www.aol.com/meaning-passover-learn-more...

    The story of Passover is told in the Book of Exodus in the Torah—the body of Jewish religious teachings. According to the Hebrew Bible, God instructed Moses to take his people (the Israelites ...

  6. Kosher foods - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_foods

    Kosher foods are foods that conform to the Jewish dietary regulations of kashrut (dietary law).The laws of kashrut apply to food derived from living creatures and kosher foods are restricted to certain types of mammals, birds and fish meeting specific criteria; the flesh of any animals that do not meet these criteria is forbidden by the dietary laws.

  7. Products without kosher certification requirements - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Products_without_kosher...

    Products without kosher certification requirements are foods, drinks, and food products that do not require kosher certification or a hechsher to be considered kosher. Products that are kosher without a hechsher may nonetheless need a hechsher during Passover .

  8. Pareve - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pareve

    A non-dairy coffee creamer marked with a pareve label. In kashrut, the dietary laws of Judaism, pareve or parve (from Yiddish: פאַרעוו for "neutral"; in Hebrew פַּרוֶוה ‎, parveh, or סְתָמִי ‎, stami) [1] is a classification of food that contain neither dairy nor meat ingredients.

  9. Why Passover's Date Changes Every Year - AOL

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/passover-know-passover...

    Passover celebrations include attending religious services and gathering with friends and family for a seder, the traditional Passover meal during which the story of Exodus is recounted. Seder ...