When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Gelatin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin

    Substances containing gelatin or functioning in a similar way are called gelatinous substances. Gelatin is an irreversibly hydrolyzed form of collagen, wherein the hydrolysis reduces protein fibrils into smaller peptides ; depending on the physical and chemical methods of denaturation, the molecular weight of the peptides falls within a broad ...

  3. Carrageenan - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carrageenan

    Carrageenan is a vegetarian and vegan alternative to gelatin in some applications, and is used to replace gelatin in confectionery and other food. The first industrial commercial cultivation of Eucheuma and Kappaphycus spp. for carrageenan was developed in the Philippines. The global top producers of carrageenan are the Philippines and Indonesia.

  4. Agar - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agar

    Green tea-flavored yōkan, a popular Japanese red bean jelly made from agar A blood agar plate used to culture bacteria and diagnose infection. Agar (/ ˈ eɪ ɡ ɑːr / or / ˈ ɑː ɡ ər /), or agar-agar, is a jelly-like substance consisting of polysaccharides obtained from the cell walls of some species of red algae, primarily from "ogonori" and "tengusa".

  5. You really don't want to know what gelatin is made of - AOL

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/2017-06-19-you-really-dont...

    To some, these facts may be pretty fascinating, but for most of us, that's just plain gross.

  6. You really don't want to know what gelatin is made of - AOL

    www.aol.com/article/lifestyle/2017/06/19/you...

    Gelatin is a main ingredient. Candies like Snickers, Skittles, Starbursts, and marshmallows have also fallen victim to the gelatin trap (I know, I'm crying too).

  7. Gelatin dessert - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin_dessert

    A gelatin shot (usually called a Jell-O shot in North America and vodka jelly or jelly shot in the UK and Australia) is a shooter in which one or more liquors, usually vodka, rum, tequila, or neutral grain spirit, replaces some of the water or fruit juice that is used to congeal the gel.

  8. Apparently, gelatin can cure a hangover and help prevent colds

    www.aol.com/news/2015-11-12-apparently-gelatin...

    Gelatin is generally made from boiling bones or animal hides. That, in turn, breaks down collagen -- which is a protein. Then, that collagen cools and re-forms into -- ta-da! -- gelatin.

  9. Edible seaweed - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edible_seaweed

    Seaweed is a possible vegan source of Vitamin B12. [19] The vitamin is obtained from symbiotic bacteria. [20] However, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics considers seaweed to be an unreliable source of Vitamin B12 for human nutrition. [21] Seaweed are used in multiple cuisines: seaweed wrapped sushi, maki; seaweed in soup, stew, hot pot