When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    However, the precise identity of the unclean birds is a matter of contention in traditional Jewish texts. It is therefore common to eat only birds with a clear masorah (tradition) of being kosher in at least one Jewish community, such as domestic fowl. Leviticus 11 lists the non-kosher flying creatures. [14]

  3. Christian dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_dietary_laws

    The Seventh-day Adventist Church follows the Old Testament's Mosaic Law on dietary restrictions, which is also the basis for the Jewish dietary laws. They only eat meat of a herbivore with split hooves and birds without a crop and without webbed feet; they also do not eat shellfish of any kind, and they only eat fish with scales.

  4. Kosher animals - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_animals

    The Talmud also offers signs for determining whether a bird is kosher or not. If a bird kills other animals to get its food, eats meat, or is a dangerous bird, then is not kosher, a predatory bird is unfit to eat, raptors like the eagles, hawks, owls and other hunting birds are not kosher, vultures and other carrion-eating birds are not kosher ...

  5. Kashrut - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kashrut

    Shellfish and other non-fish water fauna are not kosher. [45] (See kosher species of fish.) Insects are not kosher, except for certain species of kosher locust. [46] Any animal that eats other animals, whether they kill their food or eat carrion, [47] is generally not kosher, as well as any animal that has been partially eaten by other animals ...

  6. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    In the Torah, there is the bishul akum law, in which the food that has a bishul akum status means that it was fully cooked by a non-Jew and thus forbidden, even though the ingredients used to prepare the food were initially kosher in and of themselves and the prohibited combinations were to be avoided.

  7. The Yassified Kosher Aisle: How Jewish Foods Are ... - AOL

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/yassified-kosher-aisle...

    Kosher food, rooted in dietary laws as laid out in the Torah and interpreted by rabbis and scholars for thousands of years, is now leaning into nostalgia, aesthetics, and bold flavors to appeal to ...

  8. Kosher foods - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosher_foods

    Kosher foods are foods that conform to the Jewish dietary regulations of kashrut (dietary law).The laws of kashrut apply to food derived from living creatures and kosher foods are restricted to certain types of mammals, birds and fish meeting specific criteria; the flesh of any animals that do not meet these criteria is forbidden by the dietary laws.

  9. Not All Kosher Salts Are the Same, a Chef Explains—Here's Why ...

    www.aol.com/not-kosher-salts-same-chef-180618434...

    Kosher salt gets its name from its historical use in koshering meat—drawing out blood according to Jewish dietary laws. Unlike table salt, kosher salt is composed of larger, flat flakes that are ...