When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Lacto-ovo vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lacto-ovo_vegetarianism

    However, consumption of egg is not considered a part of vegetarian diet in India, as egg is an animal-product that gives birth to the next generation of that species. Those who consume egg, while not consuming other non-vegetarian products (such as fish and meat), refer to themselves as 'eggitarians'.

  3. Vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism

    Vegans can have particularly low intake of vitamin B and calcium if they do not eat enough items such as collard greens, leafy greens, tempeh and tofu (soy). [72] High levels of dietary fiber, folic acid , vitamins C and E, and magnesium, and low consumption of saturated fat are all considered to be beneficial aspects of a vegetarian diet. [ 73 ]

  4. What Happens to Your Body on a Strictly Vegan Diet - AOL

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/happens-body-strictly...

    While a vegan diet can be a healthy option, a vegan plan that’s rich in ultra-processed foods instead of whole plant foods doesn’t offer the same perks. Here are the health benefits associated ...

  5. Animal-free agriculture - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animal-free_agriculture

    Vegan organic farming methods do not use animal products or by-products, such as blood meal, fish products, bone meal, feces, or other animal-origin matter because the production of these materials is viewed as either harming animals directly, or as associated with the exploitation and consequent suffering of animals.

  6. Vegan nutrition - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegan_nutrition

    It is recommended that vegans eat three servings per day of a high-calcium food, such as fortified plant milks, green leafy vegetables, seeds, tofu, or other calcium-rich foods, and take a calcium supplement as necessary. [1] [101] Vegans consume less calcium than omnivores or vegetarians. [102]

  7. Flexitarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flexitarianism

    The Dutch research agency I&O Research calls people flexitarian when they do not eat meat one or more days a week. The Dutch Food Health authority Voedingscentrum states that flexitarians do not eat meat (but can eat fish) three or more days a week in between or with a hot meal. [7]

  8. Vegetarian cuisine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarian_cuisine

    Foods not suitable for vegans, but acceptable for some other types of vegetarians: Dairy products (butter, cheese (except for cheese containing rennet of animal origin), milk, yogurt (excluding yogurt made with gelatin) etc.) –eaten by lacto-ovo vegetarians and lacto vegetarians. Eggs – eaten by lacto-ovo vegetarians and ovo-vegetarians; Honey

  9. Lacto vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lacto_vegetarianism

    The concept and practice of lacto-vegetarianism among a significant number of people comes from ancient India. [2]An early advocate of lacto-vegetarianism was the Scottish physician George Cheyne who promoted a milk and vegetable-based diet to treat obesity and other health problems in the early 18th century.