Ads
related to: halal and haram food
Search results
Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.
The halal food and beverage industry has also made a significant impact on supermarkets and other food business such as restaurants. French supermarkets had halal food sales totalling $210 million in 2011, a 10.5% growth from five years prior. In France, the market for halal foods is even larger than the market for other types of common foods.
Any fish without scales are haram (forbidden) but fish that do have scales are permissible. [2] Shia scholars tend to teach that no other aquatic creatures are halal, with the exception of certain edible aquatic crustaceans (e.g. shrimp but not crab), [3] [4] [5] which are also Halal like scaled fish.
Likewise, in Islamic food preparation, the permissibility of food is also influenced by whether or not it comes into contact with non-halal food or drink from utensils or kitchen surfaces. Utensils used for pork, alcoholic drinks, blood, or any other not-permissible substance must not be used for halal food.
Chinese Islamic cuisine consists of variations of regionally popular foods that are typical of Han Chinese cuisine, in particular to make them halal.Dishes borrow ingredients from Middle Eastern, Turkic, Iranian and South Asian cuisines, notably mutton and spices.
Pages in category "Halal food" The following 20 pages are in this category, out of 20 total. This list may not reflect recent changes. * Halal; B. Bellamy's Organic;
The bottom line: As with most things in the realm of nutrition, too much of any one food or type of food probably isn’t going to yield a balanced, wholesome diet. Consuming seed oils as part of ...
Islam has similar laws, dividing foods into haram (forbidden) and halal (permitted). Jains often follow religious directives to observe vegetarianism. Some Hindus do not eat beef, and some Hindus, especially those from the Upper Castes consider vegetarianism as ideal, and practise forms of vegetarianism. [5]