When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Glutamate flavoring - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glutamate_flavoring

    Under 2003 U.S. Food and Drug Administration regulations, when monosodium glutamate is added to a food, it must be identified as "monosodium glutamate" in the label's ingredient list. Because glutamate is commonly found in food, primarily from protein sources, the FDA does not require foods and ingredients that contain glutamate as an inherent ...

  3. Hydrolyzed protein - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrolyzed_protein

    Hydrolyzed protein is a solution derived from the hydrolysis of a protein into its component amino acids and peptides. While many means of achieving this process exist, the most common method is prolonged heating with hydrochloric acid , [ 1 ] sometimes with an enzyme such as pancreatic protease to simulate the naturally occurring hydrolytic ...

  4. List of food additives - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_food_additives

    Monosodium glutamate (MSG) – flavor enhancer; Monostarch phosphate – thickener, vegetable gum; Montanic acid esters – humectant; Mullein (Verbascum thapsus) – Mustard – Mustard oil – (essential oil), containing a high percentage of allyl isothiocyanate or other isothiocyanates, depending on the species of mustard

  5. Monosodium glutamate - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monosodium_glutamate

    Monosodium glutamate (MSG), also known as sodium glutamate, is a sodium salt of glutamic acid. MSG is found naturally in some foods including tomatoes and cheese in this glutamic acid form. [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] MSG is used in cooking as a flavor enhancer with a savory taste that intensifies the umami flavor of food, as naturally occurring ...

  6. Corn gluten meal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corn_gluten_meal

    Corn gluten meal (CGM) is the principal protein of corn endosperm consisting mainly of zein and glutelin. [1] It is a byproduct of corn processing that has historically been used as an animal feed. Despite the name, corn gluten does not contain true gluten , which is formed by the interaction of gliadin and glutenin proteins.

  7. High-maltose corn syrup - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-maltose_corn_syrup

    High-maltose syrups produced from corn are gluten-free, but certain syrups produced from wheat or barley may contain small amounts of gluten. [9] [10] It is unclear whether gluten occurring in a wheat- or barley-based syrup can have significant effects in celiac disease. [citation needed]

  8. Hydrolyzed vegetable protein - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrolyzed_vegetable_protein

    Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP) products are foodstuffs obtained by the hydrolysis of protein, and have a meaty, savory taste similar to broth (bouillon). Regarding the production process, a distinction can be made between acid-hydrolyzed vegetable protein (aHVP), enzymatically produced HVP, and other seasonings, e.g., fermented soy sauce .

  9. Yeast extract - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yeast_extract

    Yeast extract is a common ingredient in commercially prepared soups (canned, frozen, or deli). [1] [2] It is a flavor enhancer like monosodium glutamate (MSG).Yeast extracts consist of the cell contents of yeast without the cell walls; [3] they are used as food additives or flavorings, or as nutrients for bacterial culture media.