When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Halal butcher shop in Shanghai, China. In Islamic law, dhabīḥah (Arabic: ذَبِيحَة) is the prescribed method of slaughter for halal animals. It consists of a swift, deep incision to the throat with a very sharp knife, cutting the wind pipe, jugular veins and carotid arteries on both sides but leaving the spinal cord intact.

  3. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.

  4. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    While pork alternatives (for example, by Impossible Foods) do not contain actual pork meat, some conservative religious groups, such as in Islam or Judaism regard it as forbidden, similar to its meat-based counterpart as it is the said haram or non-kosher product the pork alternative is trying to mimic and present. In addition, stricter rabbi ...

  5. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from eating according to Islamic law. [12] The most common example of haram (non-halal) food is pork. While pork is the only meat that categorically may not be consumed by Muslims (the Quran forbids it, [13] Surah 2:173 and 16:115) [14] [15] other foods not in a state of purity are also ...

  6. Talk:Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:Haram

    Is gelatine considered haraam by all Muslim scholars? I have read of a contradictory opinion... See: Salafitalk- Ruling on Gelatin--Nabilqureshi 05:31, 14 May 2005 (UTC) Gelatin / Gelatine - haram if obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources - the source is sometimes mentioned on the ingredients list. A vegetarian alternative is available.

  7. Muslim In America - The Huffington Post

    projects.huffingtonpost.com/muslim-in-america

    The diversity of Muslims in the United States is vast, and so is the breadth of the Muslim American experience. Relaying short anecdotes representative of their everyday lives, nine Muslim Americans demonstrate both the adversities and blessings of Muslim American life.

  8. Middle Colonies - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middle_Colonies

    The Middle Colonies had much fertile soil, which allowed the area to become a major exporter of wheat and other grains. The lumber and shipbuilding industries were also successful in the Middle Colonies because of the abundant forests, and Pennsylvania was moderately successful in the textile and iron industries.

  9. A world famous Lebanese porn actress has been receiving death ...

    www.aol.com/news/2015-01-08-lebanese-porn...

    By RYAN GORMAN A 21-year-old porn star, one of the world's most followed, is receiving death threats because she is Muslim. A dispute that began between Mia Khalifa, of Florida, and her parents ...