Ads
related to: kosher meat requirements
Search results
Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
Kosher foods are foods that conform to the Jewish dietary regulations of kashrut (dietary law).The laws of kashrut apply to food derived from living creatures and kosher foods are restricted to certain types of mammals, birds and fish meeting specific criteria; the flesh of any animals that do not meet these criteria is forbidden by the dietary laws.
The Islamic dietary laws and the Jewish dietary laws (kashrut; in English, kosher) are both quite detailed, and contain both points of similarity and discord.Both are the dietary laws and described in distinct religious texts: an explanation of the Islamic code of law found in the Quran and Sunnah and the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah, Talmud and Shulchan Aruch.
Every food that is considered kosher is also categorized as follows: Meat products, (also called b'sari or fleishig), are those that contain kosher meat, such as beef, lamb, or venison; kosher poultry, such as chicken, goose, duck, or turkey; or derivatives of meat such as animal gelatin; additionally, non-animal products that were processed on ...
Historically speaking, kosher style referred to foods that would normally be kosher, such as chicken noodle soup or pareve meals (neither meat nor dairy, the mixing of which is forbidden according to traditional halakhic [Jewish law] standards of kashrut [4]), except that these foods do not currently meet proper halakhic standards.
Kosher by ingredient is an approach to observing the laws of kashrut that determines whether a food is kosher or not based on ingredient, rather than by the presence of a hechsher. This approach has fallen out of favor with Orthodox Jews , but is practiced by many Conservative Jews as well as by some Reform Jews and Reconstructionist Jews .
For premium support please call: 800-290-4726 more ways to reach us