Search results
Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
Chelev (Hebrew: חֵלֶב, ḥēleḇ), "suet", is the animal fats that the Torah prohibits Jews and Israelites from eating. [1] Only the chelev of animals that are of the sort from which offerings can be brought in the Tabernacle or Temple are prohibited (Leviticus 7:25).
Yet other interpretations of תַּחַשׁ are "blue-processed skins" (Navigating the Bible II) and "(blue-)beaded skins" (Anchor Bible). Basilisk — occurs in the D.V. as a translation of several Hebrew names of snakes: פֶתֶן p̲et̲en (Psalms 90:13) - translated as "asp" in the KJV
Veal is the meat of calves, in contrast to the beef from older cattle. Veal can be produced from a calf of either sex and any breed; however, most veal comes from young male calves of dairy breeds which are not used for breeding. [1] [2] Generally, veal is more expensive by weight than beef from older cattle.
Main page; Contents; Current events; Random article; About Wikipedia; Contact us
Calf meat for human consumption is called veal, and is usually produced from the male calves of dairy cattle. Also eaten are calf's brains and calf liver. The hide is used to make calfskin, or tanned into leather and called calf leather, or sometimes in the US "novillo", the Spanish term.
Kosher animals are animals that comply with the regulations of kashrut and are considered kosher foods. These dietary laws ultimately derive from various passages in the Torah with various modifications, additions and clarifications added to these rules by halakha .
Orecchiette with Veal, Capers, and White Wine. Ground veal works in a slew of Italian pasta sauces, with options for ragù, bolognese, and plenty more.
James Tissot's The Return of the Prodigal Son. Fatted calf is a metaphor or symbol of festive celebration and rejoicing for someone's long-awaited return. It derives from the Parable of the Prodigal Son in the New Testament.