When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halal (Arabic: حَلَال, romanized: ḥalāl, lit. 'lawful') and which are haram (Arabic: حَرَام, romanized: ḥarām, lit. 'unlawful'). The dietary laws are found in the Quran, the holy book of Islam, as well as in collections of traditions attributed to the Islamic prophet Muhammad.

  3. Category:Halal food - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Halal_food

    Pages in category "Halal food" The following 20 pages are in this category, out of 20 total. This list may not reflect recent changes. * Halal; B. Bellamy's Organic;

  4. Halal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

    The halal food and beverage industry has also made a significant impact on supermarkets and other food business such as restaurants. French supermarkets had halal food sales totalling $210 million in 2011, a 10.5% growth from five years prior. In France, the market for halal foods is even larger than the market for other types of common foods.

  5. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    The kosher food fills a special niche in the food market and, despite the fact that only 10–15 percent of American Jews say they buy kosher, the niche was worth more than $12.5 billion in 2013. Industries that serve kosher products estimate that there are over 12 million kosher consumers in the United States and that around 1 in 5 Americans ...

  6. Halal snack pack - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal_snack_pack

    A halal snack pack is an Australian fast food dish, which consists of halal-certified doner kebab meat (lamb, chicken, or beef) and chips. [1] It also includes different kinds of sauces, usually chilli , garlic , and barbecue . [ 2 ]

  7. Haram - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haram

    Haram (/ h ə ˈ r ɑː m, h æ ˈ-, h ɑː ˈ-,-ˈ r æ m /; [1] [2] Arabic: حَرَام ḥarām [ħɑˈrɑːm]) is an Arabic term meaning 'forbidden'. [3]: 471 This may refer to either something sacred to which access is not allowed to the people who are not in a state of purity or who are not initiated into the sacred knowledge; or, in direct contrast, to an evil and thus "sinful action ...

  8. Food and drink prohibitions - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_drink_prohibitions

    While pork alternatives (for example, by Impossible Foods) do not contain actual pork meat, some conservative religious groups, such as in Islam or Judaism regard it as forbidden, similar to its meat-based counterpart as it is the said haram or non-kosher product the pork alternative is trying to mimic and present. In addition, stricter rabbi ...

  9. List of foods with religious symbolism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_foods_with...

    The list of foods with religious symbolism provides details, and links to articles, of foods which are used in religious communities or traditions to symbolise an aspect of the faith, or to commemorate a festival or hero of that faith group. Many such foods are also closely associated with a particular date or season.