When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Five species of grain - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Five_species_of_grain

    In Judaism, the five species of grain (Hebrew: חמשת מיני דגן, romanized: hameshet minei dagan) refer to five varieties of grain which have special status for a number of rituals. These species are commonly considered to be wheat, barley, oats, rye and spelt. However, some of these identifications are disputed. [1]

  3. Ancient grains - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ancient_grains

    Wild cereals and other wild grasses in northern Israel. Ancient grains is a marketing term used to describe a category of grains and pseudocereals that are purported to have been minimally changed by selective breeding over recent millennia, as opposed to more widespread cereals such as corn, rice and modern varieties of wheat, which are the product of thousands of years of selective breeding.

  4. Seven Species - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seven_Species

    The Seven Species (Hebrew: שִׁבְעַת הַמִינִים, Shiv'at HaMinim) are seven agricultural products—two grains and five fruits—that are listed in the Hebrew Bible as being special products of the Land of Israel. The seven species listed are wheat, barley, grape, fig, pomegranates, olive (oil), and date (date honey) (Deuteronomy ...

  5. Oat - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oat

    [56] [60] [61] Oat products are frequently contaminated by other gluten-containing grains, mainly wheat and barley, requiring caution in the use of oats if people are sensitive to the gluten in those grains. [57] [58] [62] [63] For example, oat bread often contains only a small proportion of oats alongside wheat or other cereals. [64]

  6. Ancient Grains Like Oats and Millet Can Help People with Type ...

    www.aol.com/ancient-grains-oats-millet-help...

    Oats, brown rice, millet, and all other “ancient grains” are considered whole grains. Whole grains include not only starch, but also fiber, vitamins, minerals, and healthy fats.

  7. Ancient Israelite cuisine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ancient_Israelite_cuisine

    The offerings considered "most holy" were eaten by the males of the priests in the court of the Temple sanctuary (Leviticus 7:9–10). The meal was considered to be a part of the priest’s duties. Other offerings could be eaten by the priests with their families in any ritually clean place (Leviticus 10:14).

  8. Chadash - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chadash

    The applicability of the Chadash rules to grain grown outside the Land of Israel is a subject of debate among halakhic authorities. Although the Mishnah and Babylonian Talmud record a Tannaitic dispute about applicability outside Israel [4] the majority of medieval Jewish scholars (e.g. Moses Maimonides, the Rif, and the Rosh) forbade its consumption.

  9. Kitniyot - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kitniyot

    Kitniyot in the market. Kitniyot (Hebrew: קִטְנִיּוֹת, qitniyyot) is a Hebrew word meaning legumes. [1] During the Passover holiday, however, the word kitniyot (or kitniyos in some dialects) takes on a broader meaning to include grains and seeds such as rice, corn, sunflower seeds, and sesame seeds, in addition to legumes such as beans, peas, and lentils.