When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Margarine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margarine

    Margarine has a particular market value to those who observe the Jewish dietary laws of Kashrut, which forbids the mixing of meat and dairy products; hence there are strictly kosher non-dairy margarines available, known as pareve. One brand known to the Kosher-keeping public is Fleischmann's Margarine.

  3. Fact check: Truth about margarine is more complicated than ...

    www.aol.com/news/fact-check-truth-margarine-more...

    Margarine wasn't invented to fatten turkeys. And not all margarines are the same, so a viral post's claims about its health effects may be wrong. Fact check: Truth about margarine is more ...

  4. What Is Margarine, Exactly? - AOL

    www.aol.com/lifestyle/margarine-exactly...

    The post What Is Margarine, Exactly? appeared first on Reader's Digest. Skip to main content. Sign in. Mail. 24/7 Help. For premium support please call: 800-290-4726 more ...

  5. Wheat - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheat

    Wheat is a group of wild and domesticated grasses of the genus Triticum (/ ˈ t r ɪ t ɪ k ə m /). [3] They are cultivated for their cereal grains, which are staple foods around the world. Well-known wheat species and hybrids include the most widely grown common wheat (T. aestivum), spelt, durum, emmer, einkorn, and Khorasan or Kamut.

  6. Cereal germ - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cereal_germ

    Detailed illustration of the different parts constituting a wheat kernel. The germ of a cereal grain is the part that develops into a plant; [1] it is the seed embryo. [2] Along with bran, germ is often a by-product of the milling [3] that produces refined grain products.

  7. Founder crops - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Founder_crops

    In 1988, the Israeli botanist Daniel Zohary and the German botanist Maria Hopf formulated their founder crops hypothesis. They proposed that eight plant species were domesticated by early Neolithic farming communities in Southwest Asia (Fertile Crescent) and went on to form the basis of agricultural economies across much of Eurasia, including Southwest Asia, South Asia, Europe, and North ...

  8. Triticeae glutens - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triticeae_glutens

    In addition to bread wheat, rye and barley (which have similar glutens) are known to cause symptoms in coeliacs. Between 2 and 10% of gluten sensitive individuals are also sensitive to oats , but it is not clear how much of this is due to contamination of triticeae seeds in oats or allergic responses (versus intolerance).

  9. Is corn a grain? How to classify corn on the cob, popcorn ...

    www.aol.com/corn-grain-classify-corn-cob...

    "Corn can uniquely be counted as either a grain and a vegetable, depending on the form," Washington, D.C.-based dietitian and diabetes educator Caroline Thomason, RD, CDCES, tells USA TODAY.