When.com Web Search

  1. Ads

    related to: is pork gelatin halal food

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Islamic_and...

    Gelatin, according to one of the two Islamic viewpoints, it is only permissible if it comes from a permissible animal, but according to another Islamic viewpoint, gelatin is halal, whatever its source, due to a chemical transformation, [7] [8] as for Judaism usually kosher gelatin comes from the bones of kosher fish, [citation needed] or is a ...

  3. Unclean animal - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unclean_animal

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. In some religions , an unclean animal is an animal whose consumption or handling is taboo . According to these religions, persons who handle such animals may need to ritually purify themselves to get rid of their uncleanliness.

  4. Hi-Chew - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hi-Chew

    It contains gelatin ingredients derived from pork, so it is not halal, kosher, or vegetarian. [ 5 ] Hi-Chew's ingredients include glucose syrup, sugar , hydrogenated palm kernel oil , gelatin , natural and artificial flavors, strawberry juice from concentrate, DL- malic acid , citric acid , emulsifiers , sodium lactate solution, and natural ...

  5. Gelatin - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin

    Most gelatin is derived from pork skins, pork and cattle bones, or split cattle hides. [24] Gelatin made from fish by-products avoids some of the religious objections to gelatin consumption. [5] The raw materials are prepared by different curing, acid, and alkali processes that are employed to extract the dried collagen hydrolysate.

  6. List of diets - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_diets

    The opposite of halal is haraam, food that is Islamically impermissible. Haraam substances include alcohol, carnivores, pork and other non-ruminant animals, and any meat from an animal which was not killed through the Islamic method of ritual slaughter . [7]

  7. Islamic dietary laws - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_dietary_laws

    The South African National Halal Authority also licenses the usage of the Halal logo in restaurants where the food is halal, in addition to no alcohol or pork products being served. [44] In Singapore, halal certification is managed by Majlis Ugama Islam Singapura (MUIS), also known as the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore.

  8. Religious restrictions on the consumption of pork - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religious_restrictions_on...

    The pig is considered an unclean animal as food in Judaism and Islam, and parts of Christianity. Pork is a food taboo among several religions, including Jews, Muslims, and some Christian denominations. Swine were prohibited in ancient Syria [1] and Phoenicia, [2] and the pig and its flesh represented a taboo observed, Strabo noted, at Comana in ...

  9. Halal certification in Australia - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal_certification_in...

    According to the Australian Food and Grocery Council, halal foods must be "free from any substance taken or extracted from a haram animal or ingredient (e.g. pigs, dogs, carnivorous animals, animals not slaughtered in compliance with Islamic rites); [be] made, processed, manufactured and/or stored by using utensils, equipment and/or machinery ...