Search results
Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
Over the centuries, various criteria were laid down for wine to be appropriate for use in the Eucharist. Editions of the Tridentine Roman Missal had a section De Defectibus on defects which could occur in the celebration of Mass, including defects of the wine. [example needed] Canon 924 of the present Code of Canon Law (1983) states:
Manischewitz produces special Kosher for Passover bottling of its wines, which are sweetened with cane sugar as opposed to the corn syrup that is used throughout the year. [25] [26] The sweetness of Manischewitz wine and other kosher wines is often the fodder of jokes. However, Kosher wine does not have to be sweet.
Choosing a Passover wine doesn't have to mean reaching for the sweet stuff. We found the best kosher wines worth uncorking and sharing.
For wine to be considered kosher, only Sabbath-observant Jews may handle it, from the first time in the process when a liquid portion is separated from solid waste, until the wine is pasteurized or bottles are sealed. [8] [9] Wine that is described as "kosher for Passover" must have been kept free from contact with chametz and kitnios. This ...
Seder means “order” in Hebrew, and that should be the first clue that this traditional Passover meal has very special significance. The Passover seder meal: horseradish, wine, and unleavened bread
The Jewish holiday of Passover, commemorating the liberation of the Jewish people from slavery in Egypt, begins Monday and lasts until April 30. For many, the holiday is a reminder of the Jewish ...
A twice-born person, having, through folly, drunk wine, shall drink wine red-hot; he becomes freed from his guilt, when his body has been completely burnt by it. — Manusmriti 11.90, Gautama 23.1, Baudhāyana 2.1.18, Āpastamba 1.25.3, Vaśiṣtha 20.19, Yājñavalkya 3.253 [ 27 ]
[114] After this time, water was permitted in place of wine, but the church continued to use wine for the sacrament until the early 20th century. As the church's prohibition on alcohol became solidified in the early 20th century, water became the liquid of choice for the Sacrament, although in situations where clean water and/or fresh bread is ...