When.com Web Search

Search results

  1. Results From The WOW.Com Content Network
  2. Jain vegetarianism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jain_vegetarianism

    Many vegetarian restaurants and Mishtanna sweet-shops – for example, the Ghantewala sweets of Delhi [48] and Jamna Mithya in Sagar – are run by Jains. Some restaurants in India serve Jain versions of vegetarian dishes that leave out carrots, potatoes, onions and garlic. A few airlines serve Jain vegetarian dishes [49] [50] upon prior request.

  3. Non-vegetarian food in India - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-vegetarian_food_in_India

    A December 2021 Delhi High court instruction reminds all food business operators “to ensure complete and strict adherence of Regulation 2.2.2(4)”, (“i.e. Declaration regarding Veg or Non veg”.. in whatever amount of percentage, what is sourced from animals, would render the food article as Non-Vegetarian, and need to be declared) and ...

  4. List of plants used in Indian cuisine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_plants_used_in...

    Most Indian restaurants serve predominantly Punjabi/North Indian cuisine, while a limited few serve a very limited choice of some South Indian dishes like Dosa. But for the connoisseurs, India offers a complex and eclectic array of sub-cuisines to explore, which are equally vegetarian friendly and a delight to the taste buds.

  5. Diet in Hinduism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_in_Hinduism

    A distinction traditionally exists between vegetarian and non-vegetarian castes; while Brahmins and merchant castes were usually vegetarian, dominant castes that held a monopoly on power, such as Rajputs, tended to be non-vegetarian. A vegetarian diet was considered ritually purer, whereas a non-vegetarian diet was seen as necessary for the ...

  6. Bhojpuri cuisine - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bhojpuri_cuisine

    Non-vegetarian dishes are seen as delicacies and are eaten with great relish. It has always been a custom to serve guests a non-vegetarian dish at least once during their stay. After the arrival of British, poultry became popular and now has become one of the largest contributor in meat-yielding animals.

  7. Anjeer - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/?title=Anjeer&redirect=no

    This page was last edited on 5 August 2021, at 13:13 (UTC).; Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 License; additional terms may ...

  8. Vegetarianism by country - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarianism_by_country

    Vegetarian mark: Mandatory labeling in India to distinguish vegetarian products from non-vegetarian products. It is noted that, in states where vegetarianism is more common, milk consumption is higher and is associated with lactase persistence. This allows people to continue consuming milk into adulthood and obtain proteins that are substituted ...

  9. Vegetarian and vegan symbolism - Wikipedia

    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vegetarian_and_vegan_symbolism

    The green dot symbol (top-left) identifies lacto-vegetarian food, and the redish-brown triangle symbol (top-right) identifies non-vegetarian food. Packaged food and toothpaste [4] products sold in India are required to be labelled with a mandatory mark in order to be distinguished between lacto-vegetarian and non-vegetarian.